Exercise One: Detail and Tone 

For this exercise, we were asked to draw a single object, and create a pencil drawing, focusing on cross hatching tones. I picked six shells as it would have been a very plain drawing otherwise, and although this took a little more time to finish, I think the end result was worth it. Following advice from my Assignment One feedback, I really tried to focus on depicting the various tones within the image and keep the shadows and sunlight source obvious and clear. In previous drawings I have been unfocused in my use of tone, so after spending my first drawing session getting in the main lights and darks and mapping in the basic details, I took a photograph and worked from that afterwards, using the physical objects to look in more detail. As I worked at different times of day and evening, I would’ve had lots of confused shadows and light sources otherwise.

I used coloured pencils for this. I learnt how using the side of the pencil creates a soft subtle shade that is easier to blend, compared to using the pointed end, which is much harder and has more concentrated pigment. Looking back, I can now see that I am still using outlines to define the boundaries of objects and I definitely need to make a conscious effort to get out of this habit, using more gentle changes in tone instead. However, I am really pleased with the depth of tone and shading I incorporated within this drawing, increasing the contrast between the darks and lights made it more dramatic and visually interesting. The background is very subtle and I am really pleased that I have managed to show that vast area of texture using a minimal amount of colour, so it wouldn’t overshadow the main focus of the drawing. I really enjoy drawing small intricate details and texture, so will definitely try this exercise again with different objects, for example tree bark and fruit.

Leave a comment